Returning to the madness

Had to ignore doctor's orders and return to the columnist's chair to discuss the first anniversary of the Ukraine invasion and the continued madness of a GOP move to make the AR-15 our "National Gun."

[Linked Image from capitolhillblue.com]
GOP fabulist liar George Santos (lower right) and two other Republican wing nuts who follow his endorsement of the AR-15 as “America’s National Gun.”

By DOUG THOMPSON
February 24, 2023

For the first time in weeks, I am sitting at my desk trying to write a column for Capitol Hill Blue, something I have been doing for this political news site for more than 28 years. My left leg, with skin cells and blood badly infected, is propped up, per the doctor’s orders. I am limited to no more than 30 minutes of such time a day. This site informed readers last week that I was down and not writing. I’m still down but will try to return to writing.

Lots to write about on this first anniversary of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, a war crime in the eyes of many, us included. With billions of aid from America and NATO allies, the invasion that Russian president/dictator Vladimir Putin said would be quick and easy, shows a small nation holding on.

Some wonder if American action will bring a war between us and Russia. Given the problems Putin has found in trying to take over its neighbor, we doubt that even he is insane enough to take on a nation with a lot more power and resources.

America is sending tanks, warplanes, bombs, drones, ammo, and other resources. We’re not alone. Other NATO governments are stepping in as well. They figure stopping Russia now could prevent them from having to fight Putin off later.

Let’s hope not and let’s also hope the right-wingnuts that control the Republican Party don’t hamper President Joe Biden and the American military in any efforts needed to prevent this from turning into an all-out nuclear war.